An overview of Tenerife

posted in: Various | 0

An overview of Tenerife in the Canary Islands Archipelago

Panoramica Tenerife

Here we start a brief overview of Tenerife island, belonging to the archipelago of the Canary, Autonomous Community of Spain. The Island has an area of 2034.38 square kilometres and a population of 888,184 residents; it is the largest and most populated of the seven islands of the archipelago.

Tenerife is about 300km from Africa, it is located slightly north of the Tropic of Cancer, in a central position to the archipelago. It’s most important city, Santa Cruz de Tenerife, is the capital of the homonym province.

Santa Cruz de Tenerife is the main town of the island and it is the capital of the archipelago together with Las Palmas (Gran Canaria). On the island there is also the ancient capital, San Cristobal de La Laguna, a UNESCO Humanity’s Heritage.

Tenerife hosts also other UNESCO’s sites, such as the Parque Nacional del Teide, (the most visited of Spain). It hosts the Anaga park (Biosphere Reserve) too, that have one of the largest number of endemic species of Europe.

Santa Cruz is certainly known for the carnival, one of the most important in the world. On the waterfront stands out also the most characteristic structure, the Auditorium of the architect Santiago Calatrava.

The variety of climates and vegetation of this island makes it charming and attractive. The wide variety of landscapes, with high cliffs hundreds of meters hight, deserts, and the lush forest of Laurisilva often immersed in a layer of clouds are securely a amazing show.